‘Thinking Allowed’ Ethnography Award

bbc-radio-4Professor Helen Sampson, Director Seafarers International Research Centre and the Lloyd’s Register Foundation research unit, is the first winner of the ‘Thinking Allowed’ Ethnography Award (in association with the British Sociological Association). She won the award for her book International seafarers and transnationalism in the twenty-first century (Manchester University Press).  

Listen to the BBC Radio4 Thinking Allowed programme here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b041y1mx 

The ‘Thinking Allowed’ Ethnography Award was launched by Henrietta L. Moore and Laurie Taylor in the BBC4 Radio programme ‘Thinking Allowed’ on 19 June 2013. It acknowledges a study that has made a significant contribution to ethnography: the in-depth analysis of the everyday life of a culture or sub-culture.

The judges for the Award are Professor Dick Hobbs, Professor Henrietta Moore, Dr Louise Westmarland, Professor Bev Skeggs. The Chair is Professor Laurie Taylor. (Please do not contact any judges directly).

The Award is open to any UK resident currently employed as a teacher or researcher or studying as a postgraduate in a UK institution of higher education. An entry should be a completed ethnography, a qualitative research project which provides a detailed description of the practices of a group or culture. Any sole authored book or peer reviewed research article published during the calendar year of the award will be eligible.

The judges will be looking for work which displays flair, originality and clarity, alongside sound methodology. The work should make a significant contribution to knowledge and understanding in the relevant area of research.

The panel of judges will select six finalists, and from that shortlist the judges will select an overall winner who will be awarded a prize of £1000.

Visit the BBC Radio4 ‘Thinking Allowed’-Website for further information: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b006qy05/features/ethnography